Lamb or Lion

They say March is determined 

by a lamb or a lion

 

Once by it comes, and once by it leaves

 

As I hear the wind howl, the gentle whisper of the night

I happen to ask myself, is it like the lamb or the lion?

 

The winter’s chill holds fast, 

You must hide your face, before it dries 

there is no heat, in the day so is it like the lamb or the lion? 

 

The snow has stopped falling

Not even two inches gather

I’m not blown by the day or night, so is it like the lamb or the lion?

 

Perhaps we won’t know

Until the last day

 

So I shall pray this night it is like the lion

For then I can look forward to the lamb leaving. 

I shudder to think if this is the lamb, 

How worse can the lion be? 

 

Once it comes, once it goes, is it like the lamb or the lion tonight? 

Leave a Reply

