I am Thankful For…..

As people sitting around the table waiting for their turn

with the simple phrase to finish, as the one above is heard.


To say these phrases are cheesy

well, that is what I always thought.

The default reaction, to the question

What are you thankful for?


People reply in such ways,

I am thankful for my loving family.

I am thankful for my great friends.

I am thankful for this home

I am thankful for pumpkin pie.


All these response, are very true

Yet, I was restless,waiting for my turn

to say the exact thing they did.

Without putting any thought into

what others were saying,

or what I would say.

So it is my turn, and what do I say?


I blank,

because I don’t really know

when put on the spot,

what could I truly be thankful for?


What a selfish thought

I just thought, to not be

thankful for something.


But that isn’t true

because I am,

thankful, that is

I am thankful for several things

things that aren’t just material

and then some things that are.

I honestly smile, to think of all

I am so thankful for.

I am so thankful that I wake up each day, and that I have everything I had yesterday, because of God.

I am so thankful that I don’t have to worry if I am breathing right, that I just breath, because of God.

I am thankful that I have a Dad, a Mom, one sister, two brothers and one dog,

because of God.

I am thankful I have a beautiful home, filled with beds and comfy furniture,

because of God.

I am thankful that I have a few very close friends, that I completely trust,

because of God.

I suppose what I am really getting at, is the simple answer, that I have been giving.

I am thankful that there is a God, who love me.

I am thankful there is a God who willing died for me.

I am thankful there is a God.

I am thankful I have a God for you and for me.

Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

