Social Society Built Upon Stress.

Today  was such horrible day. First I overslept, so I was rushed getting out the door. On the way to work the traffic was a zoo, this idiot pulled out in front of me and my coffee spilled on the passengers seat.  What a mess. That stain isn’t going to come out. I went to turn right, when I looked up to see a sign saying, No Right on Red.  They must have just put that up, because  I have been turning right on red for years. Finally the light turns green and I have to wait because a person is taking their sweet time walking across. Oblivious to the world around them as he continues to listen to his music through his iPhone. I turn and make a bee line to work.When I get there my boss asked to see me in his office. I sigh frustrated, and walk into the room. He has a stack of folders that I have personally overseen. He slams them down, in which I ask, “Is there a problem?” He just shakes his head and says “I hope I see better next time.”  Defeated and hungry because I skipped breakfast I leave his office only to find a stack of fresh manuscripts ready to be read. Since when did my hobby become my job? How did I let this happen I ask myself.

The day continues just how it started, rushed with too many mistakes. Co- workers are looking to me for answers and my boss keeps looking over, as if saying, “you haven’t even started have you?”  I decided to skip lunch because I didn’t bring any food and what is the point, when I have all this stuff to do. I leave the work day at 5:30, only to see that I have a flat tire. Of course.  I call my friend to pick me up, she does and all the way home she tells me how stressed she is, with work, and her kids, and her husband. By the time she drops me off I couldn’t listen to another word. I thank her, and she drives away. I find a note from my neighbor asking me to watch her fish and I look down to see a bowl filled with water and fish looking up at me.  I grab the bowl, in which the water splashes on me. I am wound so tight, and then I remember that stack of files I forgot at the office.  My feet are killing me. I kick off my heels, knowing I couldn’t walk another hour in them. I don’t know what to do. I am just about ready to eat, because I am starving. I grab a box of Nilla Wafers, I think I am suppose to make something with them for my niece birthday but that is just going to have to wait. Later I get ready for bed, I turn my lights off but then I hear a distant sound. The college students who moved in last month two houses down are rehearsing some sort of skit for the upcoming play.  They are loud and obnoxious, and I realize it is going to be just as long of a night as it way day.

That is a pretty horrible day right? This person could relate to you. This person could be  you? I am sure at some point I am a version of this person.  I get stressed with school work, projects papers, people, friends, sometimes family. Do you ever find yourself asking this qustion, “What am I suppose to do?”  If you ask anyone in my family, I don’t handle stress well. I am cranky and anxious, and until the stressful period ends I am not someone you want to talk to. But that is just it, it doesn’t end. Something else come up and the cycle starts all over again. If you have NEVER been stressed in your life, congratulations.  But if you are like me, stressful situations just happen…or do they?

Originally stress happens because of an instinct. Ever heard of  FIGHT or FLIGHT? Kind of like that. We use to stress over things that mattered. Now we stress over the fact if we can get our coffee drink before class starts. Or like I said before, se get stressed and upset while driving and the “stupid, annoying drivers” around us. Sometimes it is also how much we stress over something. Instead of stressing over something and then once the problem was resolved we don’t let it go… Let is GO! Let it GO…. like Frozen?  HA HA okay maybe that was only funny for me.  ANY who..… Instead we drive through to the next situation. Is that healthy probably not. But why is it that we admire the people who are juggling a job, and kids, and family and friends. People who have a million things going at once, and on the inside they are stressed to the max. Why don’t we admire the people that take life at a slower pace. Like the person walking, oblivious to the world, listen to their music? Or maybe we do, but we tell ourselves that can’t and won’t be us.

I admire my mom. But I don’t admire her because she is doing everything at once. I admire her beaches she is a strong and independent person, and yet she has a wonderful husband who let her know she doesn’t have to do everything at once. I am very blessed to have the parents I do. My mom does a lot in a day, but she knows that she has to take breaks, and she doesn’t have to get everything done at once. Because I think a lot of Moms think that, because they want to take care of us, but what happen to taking care of ourselves?

When did our social society put so much effort into showing everyone else how stressed they were? Probably because we didn’t know we were actually doing it. One thing that helps me, it just happen today actually. I was just stressed about silly things that aren’t going to happen for awhile, but they were consuming me. I went to chapel, and the professor giving the message asked us what we needed to hear today. He said phrases such as, “I forgive you. You are not a failure.” And then he said do you need to hear, “I’ve got this, so don’t worry.” It stopped me where I was at. I am not saying that because God has everything under control you will never be stressful, because I know I will. But in those moments when I stress over little things, I will remember that God has a plan for everything, and maybe there was a reason I overslept one day. Or my car wouldn’t start, and I had to walk. Hopefully this puts it in perceptive. I actually learned about components of stress in a class, and then I heard this phrase in chapel, and so I felt inclined to share.  Another things, something that was taught in  class. about stress..real quick.  You should work somewhere you feel valued and important. My Grandpa always told me, that you should love where you are working. If you don’t love it,  you won’t have the motivation to get past those little patches of stressful time.

I posted the link below to the video we watched in class about stress. I don’t agree with all of it, but there are some very valid points. It is pretty long, like I said we listen to it for class, but I would recommend giving it a try.  I also leave you  with some bible verse, that I agree with, 100%.

Matthew 6:25- 27 “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes?  Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life?”

John 14:27  “Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you.  I do not give to you as the world gives.  Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.”

Philippians 4:6,7.  Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.  And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”

Stress:  Portait for a Killer

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eYG0ZuTv5rs

Leave a Reply

