T-2 L-5

Second Corinthians 3:3 says, You show that you are a letter from Christ…written not with ink but with the spirit of the living God, not on tables of stone but on tablets of human hearts.

My throat was dry 

there was no moister

to coat around the sides.

I moved my head

but it only sent it in a dizzy. 

SPACE 

Someone said my name, and  I tired to flutter my eyelashes. 

The unfamiliar voice continued to say something.

I slowly and painfully swallowed my own spit

and then winced at the bright light

shining around me 

_

The room was light, gray walls, and big circular lights hung over me. 

It was also cold.

I don’t remember if my hand were at my side or if they were crossed over

but the room was cold.

There were people in masks hovering over me. 

The words they said, slowly formed sentence in my head.

the bed, that I  was on, started moving again. 

I was scared and I looked franticly for my parents.

“The surgery couldn’t have gone any better”

Mama said, the next day. She smiled over me,

but there were worried lines above her brow.

I guess my face was pretty swollen, and

I was in a lot of pain.

I remember the days that followed,  they showed me pictures of my spine. As I looked at the X-rays, I shook my head. It couldn’t be right. How can something so good, look so wrong. I stared at images of my spine.  Two long pieces of metal were fused with screws and the bone from my hip. It looked like set of braces on your teeth. But this was my spine, and it was permeant. My spine was  as straight as anyone else’s. Possibly straighter. But when somethings is you for so long, looking at an improved vision of yourself, it is scary. I was the girl with scoliosis. I was the girl who went to physical therapy. I was the girl who wore a body jacket. Now, I was a girl with a straight spine, and a pretty long scar. But through the imperfections and challenges I faced before the surgery, I adapted to a new normal after the surgery. I stayed at the hospital for about a week.  Close friends and family, know my story. But as the day arrives each year, I just like to always give thanks to those who were all so helpful and thoughtful to not jus me but also  and my family.

  My Mama never left my side. She was my rock. My Dad took care of everything, and together he and my mama held each other up.  My sister was there for me, when she had to help me get out of bed, get ready in the morning, little things, that were everything to me.  My family and close friends showered me with: words of inspiration, beautiful flowers, roses, and daisy, teddy bears and chocolate. Chocolate makes everything better.

_

Thank you God, for everything you have given me, the support I had and still have.  And thank you, God. Through you all things have been possible. I close with a Psalm I found in my journal that my Mama wrote in. 

Oh Lord, how many are my pains. How many pains rise against Victoria. Many are saying of me, “God will not deliver her.” Selah

But you are a shield around me, O Lord; you bestow glory on me and lift up my head.

To the Lord I cry aloud and he answers me from his holly hill. Selah. 

I lie down and sleep, I wake again, because the Lord sustains me.

I will not fear the tens of thousands of pains drawn up against me within my body.

Arise, O Lord!

Deliver me, O my God!

Strike all my enemies on the jaw; break the teeth of the wicked.

From the Lord comes deliverance, May your blessings be on all your people. Selah

Psalm 3:1-8

Leave a Reply

