dear friend

I cherish these days with you

for soon, you will be gone.

A winter’s wind will cut through my heart

freeze my face, especially my little nose.

the days with you, have brought joy and new insights

filling my soul with love, and goodness.

The longing I have for you

will be kept close to me.

Long after you leave me.

I do not detest, that you leave,

not even that you leave me

Everything has a time and place.

And though yours is especially quick,

these days,

________ minutes,

_______         moments so close with you

I can’t help but fall in love.

_E

So as we watch the branches bare

and rake up the leaves in big piles.

Those leave once so vibrant in color,

curling up, become crushed and faded.

_

Dear Autumn, don’t forget me,

For I will wait for you,

As I do each and every year.

Leave a Reply

