L.O.V.E

I don’t always like my family. I didn’t really have a say in the life I was given. I even told my mama that my younger brother needed to be a girl, Sophia. But he came screaming into this world, a big loud baby boy. I didn’t have any say over it. I didn’t have any talk with God in the womb asking if I would be older or younger than my siblings. I don’t even remember what it was like in the womb, but I do find it very special that God knew me, as I grew…and he knew me even before I was ever made. Not only did he know me, but he loved me, unconditionally. How does someone love someone they’ve never meet? Love like that…I think it means more than when I say I love coffee…and I really love coffee.

Well for me, the only explanation is that…. “For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.” He loves me. I realize a phrase like this is said a lot in this world, but when the Lord says it to me, it is a little harder for me to breath, and there is a little moister in the corner of my eye. Love, in this form is only seen by God. He is the only one who can purely, unselfishly give this love to anyone. But there are other forms of love that I have seen, and I have been blessed by.

Last Sunday night, around nine o’clock pm. the stomach flu hit my family. Hard. First my sister, then my younger brother, then me…then my mom and lastly my other brother. I won’t go into details because we have all been there and we all know it. Sometime the next day I woke up, with no appetite and still a stomach ache, the long walk up the stairs just about wore me out. But once I trudged up the stairs, my dad is standing there in the kitchen shooing me back downstairs telling me if I need anything I can just text him. All day, he was everyone’s “doctor”. Brining us little glasses of gatorade, and ice chips. It was the little things he did for each of us, that reminded me of Galatians 5:22-23. “The Fruit of the Spirit is love….”

I might not always like my family…..I mean sometimes I don’t like my friends….or random people. It is just the sinful nature that I live in. Not an excuse, just a sad reality in this life.  Sometimes I have days I am not the best company to be in, and I bet you have those days to. Love can be an abused concept. How do you trust love, when it is flawed. I don’t think you can trust your own love, it can’t be how you acted. Instead it has to be how God loved and how we can replicate that. Sometimes it is difficult to love everyone, so start small. By this simple verse in Luke 6:31

“Do unto others as you would have them do to you.” Start to love other’s like this, like the Lord did.

Leave a Reply

