Peace

Peace…

I could use some peace today, tomorrow, and the rest of the days of my life. I am not just saying that because I am a junior in college…almost a senior. That in a year and a half I need to have a job, and probably a place to live. That I really wanted to have a boyfriend, a partner in life to start dreaming about a new step in my life. Those things do complicate life…and it does raise my stress level. I suppose it is one reason I would really like some peace. I also would love some peace, so I am not second guessing….

Peace, in that who I am is alright. That is is okay I am not as determined as my sister, Molly. Who is so likable and just attracts people like magnets. . Peace, that is is alright I don’t have a sense to thrive in everything I do, like my brother, Terry.  He has this incredible servitude  for God, and he like my sister, is just a magnet for people.  Peace that isn’t horrible that I don’t have a drive to want to better my life, and job, and future like my youngest brother, Erich.  I am not doing this as a pity- part. Because without them, who would I  be? I look at my family and see that things are changing and that I might not be ready or up to the task of going along with it all. Where was I going with this all?

Peace…right?

Maybe it is too ambitious to think I could live a peaceful life. Does anyone really? I mean I am so behind with life that I am struggling to write on Peace, and I need to write on patience! I am chaining subjects here, so let’s focus on P.E.A.C.E. I think it is very interesting that when I wrote Peace on the wall, only one person’s name came to mind. That surprised me, is it that difficult to be at peace? It sort of made me feel better, I wasn’t the only one out there not at peace. From my own experience; expectations are the root of so much emotional distress. We either expect something to go one way, or a different way.  When something or someone disappoints us, we react in anger or sadness.

You can see where it is difficult to have peace…or a peaceful mind. The one person, whose name was written was a friend of my dad’s from college. We just went down to see him, and the minute I saw him, I was at peace. He really has a calming presence, and I didn’t stress over anything. True, it was a vacation, but I missed school, and so did my brothers. My sister and Dad had to take off for work. There were a lot of challenges, including driving down with was roughly a 14-hour drive. We were tired and squeezed yet when we got there, everything was alright. Pete has an incredible faith, and love for God. I think it is very interesting that he does have such a strong love for God, and a relationship with God. I can’t speak for him, but I think it does factor in how peaceful he is. From spending time with him, it is his unique loving, so a natural relationship with God.

My prayer for you and me is that you won’t let life get you down. I know this is easy to say, like so many things in this world. So I added a few bible verse to help. John 16:33 says, “I have told you these things so that in me you may have peace. In this word you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.” Awesome! No worries. God has got EVERYTHING under control. However, even I struggle with this. I am human and imperfect so yeah, there are times, I don’t think God has everything  under control. Silly…foolish probably to doubt the creator of the universe. But many times, I think my way is better. I can’t tell you to just forget about your worries because that is like telling a person who is on a diet just don’t eat sugar. It isn’t helpful. So I want to leave you with a few bible verses. Some that help me when the world just gets me down.

Psalm 50:15~ “Call upon me ( God)  in the day of trouble and I will deliver you and you will honor me.”

John 14:27~ “ Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.”

Leave a Reply

