Vast and Vivid

The snow groaned as my boot come upon it. 

Each crunch a reminder of the bitter winter conditions. 

The wind gave no mercy, quickly founding it’s way into the small openings of my coat. 

I pushed my mittened hands deeper into my pockets.

A complete juxtapositions from the chaotic and close quarters I had been in momentarily. 

I shut the cabin door, and was greeted by the melancholy note of the wind. 

It was so still and sharp as the snow lie in waiting. 

 My breath short and choppy. 

Quickly expanding my lungs, for fear the cruel chill would otherwise freeze them. 

My strides were long, as my footprints became muddled with that of tires, animal and human. 

I trudged on, deep into the snow, deeper into the forest. 

I held my breath, dare I miss the soft hum blow through. 

I found myself fixated.

God’s hand gently grazed the tips of the horizon and expanded through the land. 

The snow shimmered, it was so bright. To my absolute delight, it actually sparkled.

Vast and Vivid lay before me. 

Trees embraced in one another, holding the banks of snow on their shoulders. 

The lingering stalks of field, too stubborn to break, glistened. 

So still and quiet, I could not believe it was real. 

My own frozen face, primmer red as the small flakes kissed my checks. 

The sun, another juxtaposition, shinned brightly but held no warmth. 

My legs now numb, and fingers brittle, I  rushed inside only to be betrayed. 

The heat made my ears brimmed red, and begin to throb.

My steps were staggered, ad I felt my legs for a second and then became jell-o. 

Confused by yet another juxtapositions I quickly escaped out of the warm, into the cool air that only seconds ago had paralyzed me. 

What a grand day to live, indeed, constantly in a juxtapositions. 

Leave a comment